Board members

The activities of Tasplan are managed by our Trustee Board. Information on our Board members is set out below.


Naomi Edwards, Chair


Start date: 14 October 2011

Committee membership: Remuneration and nominations committee, Investment committee

Naomi is a Director of the Tasmanian Development Board, Australian Institute of Company Directors, Nikko AML Ltd, Nikko Asset Manager Australia Ltd, Propel Funeral Partners and the Institute of Actuaries Australia. She was formerly Independent Chair of Australian Ethical Investments, and Director at Trowbridge Consulting and the Australian Institute of Superannuation Trustees. She was previously an actuarial consultant and Partner at Deloitte.


John Mazengarb


Start date: 18 July 2016

Committee membership: Audit, risk and compliance committee (Chair)

Nominating body: Tasmanian Chamber of Commerce and Industry

John was a Director of RBF from September 2013 to July 2016. He is a Chartered Accountant with over 30 years consulting experience with PwC, IBM and Litmus Group. In recent years he has also held several contract senior executive roles in Tasmanian Government businesses overseeing planning and delivery of major business transformation projects.

John is a Non-Executive Director, National Councillor and member of the Tasmanian State Council of the Governance Institute of Australia. He is Chair of the Clarence City Council Audit Committee and Independent Member of the TasBuild Limited Investment Committee. He is Chair of the Tasmanian Catholic Education Commission Centralised Long Service Leave Fund Investment Committee, Non-Executive Director of Mafematica Pty Ltd and Executive Director of GSD Advisors Pty Limited.


Steve Walsh

Start date: 10 October 2014

Committee membership: Remuneration and nominations committee

Nominating body: Unions Tasmania

Steve Walsh was formally the Secretary of Unions Tasmania. He was previously a State Organiser for the AMWU and has been involved with unions for over 30 years at state, national and international levels. He was previously a Director of Media Super, Skills Council and WorkCover Board.


Susan Parr

BA, GradDipEd(EC), MAICD

Start date: 24 March 2015

Committee membership: Remuneration and nominations committee (Chair), Investment committee

Nominating body: Tasmanian Chamber of Commerce and Industry

Susan Parr was the CEO of St Ann’s Homes from 1997 to 2016. She is a graduate of the Harvard Business School Program on Negotiation. Susan has over thirty years’ experience in leadership positions on a range of boards including Aged and Community Services Tasmania and was previously Chair of the Tasmanian Chamber of Commerce and Industry.


Trish Donohue


Start date: 1 January 2019

Committee membership: Investment committee (Chair), Remuneration and nominations committee, Audit, risk and compliance committee

Nominating body: Local Government Association of Tasmania

Trish Donohue is currently a director of the Infrastructure Victoria Audit and Risk Committee. Prior to this, Trish was director and deputy president of the Australian Council of Superannuation Investors (ACSI), and board director of the CIMA Society of Australia (previously called Investment Management Consultants Association) and the Association of Superannuation Funds of Australia (ASFA) Investment Committee.

Trish has had extensive experience working in superannuation and investments, including as Group Executive of Investments at Cbus Superannuation Fund.


Jessica Munday

BA (Political Science/Public Policy)

Start date: 23 March 2018

Committee membership: Audit, risk and compliance committee

Nominating body: Unions Tasmania

Jessica Munday is the current Secretary of Unions Tasmania, the peak body for trade unions in Tasmania. Prior to leading Unions Tasmania, Jessica worked with the Community and Public Sector Union (PSU Group), leading the Tasmanian Branch for over three years.

Jessica is also involved in workplace health and safety as the President and Treasurer of Worker Assist and a Board Member of WorkCover Tasmania.


Tom Lynch

Start date:
27 March 2020

Committee membership: Audit, risk and compliance committee

Nominating body: Unions Tasmania

Tom Lynch has been the General Secretary of Tasmania’s main public sector union, the CPSU, since 2003. He’s also currently the Federal President of the State Public Service Division of the CPSU. He represents the union on several national and international organisations involved with studying the future of work and corporate tax accountability. Tom's also active in the global federation of workers in public services, the Public Services International.



The performance assessments of the Board and individual Directors are undertaken internally on an annual basis, and externally at least every three years. During the 2019-20 financial year, an internal performance assessment was undertaken in accordance with the Board Assessment and Renewal Policy and other internal policies.

Board skills and diversity

The table below shows the skills matrix of our Board and gender diversity results as at 27 November 2020. The numbers in each column show the number of directors assessed with the skills, knowledge and experience at Levels 1, 2 or 3 (Level 3 = expert level) for each criterion:

  Assessment Levels
Skills Criteria Level 1 Level 2 Level 3
Strategy 0 3 4
Marketing 1 6 0
Governance and Risk Management 0 5 2
Investment 2 3 2
Finance and Audit 0 4 3
Delivery 0 6 1
Remuneration and People and Culture 0 5 2


Gender Diversity
Female Male
57% 43%