The Board of the trustee company is responsible for all decisions about our management.

Tasplan is jointly sponsored by the Tasmanian Chamber of Commerce and Industry (TCCI), Unions Tasmania and the Local Government Association of Tasmania (LGAT).

Board Members

Board - Edwards, Madsen and Walsh image

Naomi Edwards, Chair


Start date: 14 October 2011

Committee membership: Remuneration committee, Investment committee

Naomi Edwards is currently a lecturer in commercial actuarial practice at the Macquarie Graduate School of Management.

Naomi is a Director of the Tasmanian Economic Development Board, the Australian Institute of Superannuation Trustees and Propel Funeral Partners. She was formerly Chairman of Australian Ethical Investments, Trustee of Australian Ethical Super and Director at Trowbridge Consulting. She was previously an actuarial consultant and Partner at Deloitte.

Board - Edwards, Madsen and Walsh image

Roslyn (Roz) Madsen

MBA, Master Industrial Relations, Adv Dip Business Management, BA, GAICD

Start date: 4 March 2011

Committee membership: Investment committee, Audit, risk and compliance committee

Roz Madsen is the Tasmanian State Manager of the Australian Education Union. She is the President of Unions Tasmania and a Director of Worker Assist. Roz also holds membership with the Australian Industrial Relations Society and Women in Super. In 2015, Roz was inducted into the Tasmanian Honour Roll of Women for her contribution to advocating for working women's rights.

Board - Edwards, Madsen and Walsh image

Steve Walsh

Start date: 10 October 2014

Committee membership: Remuneration committee

Steve Walsh was formally the Secretary of Unions Tasmania. He was previously a State Organiser for the AMWU and has been involved with unions for over 30 years at state, national and international levels. He was previously a Director of Media Super, the Skills Council and WorkCover Board.

Board - Arnold. Parr and Barta image

Paul Arnold


Start date: 24 March 2015

Committee membership: Investment committee

Principal of Paul Arnold Consulting, Paul has extensive experience in management, including over a decade as General Manager of Burnie City Council. He is Deputy Chair of the Tasmanian Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Director of Agritas Trade College, Director of Launceston City Mission, Director of Dutch Mill Tasmanian Dairy Pty Ltd and Chairman of Circular Head Christian School. He was formally a Director of WorkCover Board. He is also Chair of the audit committees for three North West Tasmanian councils. Paul is heavily involved in dairying and leases eight farms, mainly from Asian investors, which produce over 20 million litres of milk each year.

Board - Arnold. Parr and Barta image

Susan Parr

BA, GradDipEd(EC), MAICD

Start date: 24 March 2015

Committee membership: Remuneration committee

Susan Parr was the CEO of St Ann’s Homes from 1997 to 2016. She is a graduate of a Harvard Business School program on negotiation. Susan has over thirty years’ experience in leadership positions on a range of boards including Aged and Community Services Tasmania and is currently Chair of the Tasmanian Chamber of Commerce and Industry.

Board - Arnold. Parr and Barta image

Frank Barta


Start date: 1 December 2015

Committee membership: Audit, risk and compliance committee

Frank Barta was a Quadrant Super director for over 12 years. He is currently Director of Tasmanian Community Fund, as well as the Corporate Treasurer of Clarence City Council, having been Chief Financial Officer of that organisation for 20 years. Frank has worked on various professional committees and voluntary boards over the years, most recently as Treasurer of Guilford Young College in Hobart.

Board - Scullin, Mazengarb and Munday image

Brian Scullin


Start date: 18 July 2016

Committee membership: Investment committee (Chair)

Brian was President of RBF from December 2013 to July 2016. After a career in the federal government public sector, Brian served as the inaugural Executive Director of the Association of Superannuation Funds of Australia (ASFA) and in various executive roles with Bankers Trust and as Regional Head of Asia/Pacific with Deutsche Asset Management. He has held a number of non-executive industry roles including the Investment and Financial Services Association, the State Super Financial Services and BT Investment Management Limited. He is currently Chair of Propel Funeral Partners, Tasmanian Development Board and Hastings Fund Management and Deputy Chair of Possability/Oak and a Director of Macquarie Point Development Corporation.

Board - Scullin, Mazengarb and Munday image

John Mazengarb


Start date: 18 July 2016

Committee membership: Audit, risk and compliance committee (Chair)

John was a Director of RBF from September 2013 to July 2016. He is a Chartered Accountant with over 25 years consulting experience with PwC, IBM and Litmus Group. In recent years he has also held several contract senior executive roles in Tasmanian Government businesses overseeing planning and delivery of major business transformation projects.

John is a Non-Executive Director, National Councillor and member of the Tasmanian State Council of the Governance Institute of Australia. He is Chair of the Clarence City Council Audit Committee and Independent Member of the TasBuild Limited Investment Committee. He is Chair of the Tasmanian Catholic Education Commission Centralised Long Service Leave Fund Investment Committee, Non-Executive Director of Mafematica Pty Ltd and Executive Director of GSD Advisors Pty Ltd.

Board - Scullin, Mazengarb and Munday image

Jessica Munday

BA (Political Science/Public Policy)

Start date: 23 March 2018

Jessica Munday is the current Secretary of Unions Tasmania, the peak body for trade unions in Tasmania. Prior to leading Unions Tasmania, Jessica worked with the Community and Public Sector Union (PSU Group), leading the Tasmanian Branch for over three years.

Jessica is also involved in workplace health and safety as the President and Treasurer of Worker Assist and a Board Member of WorkCover Tasmania.